2022 Awards


Thank you to all the attendees, artists, volunteers, partners, organizers, SFU Production Team and everyone else involved in making the first ever in-person Small File Media Festival a rousing success!

Here are the awards from the 2022 Small File Media Festival:

Small File Media Festival Programmers’ Awards:

Jami Reimer, Frog of Chorus
Best Molecule (less than 1 MB)

Amber Morrison Fox and Matthew Fox, DOOMER 1-3
Best Trouble (22 MB series)

BiglerWeibel, Twelve Past One
Best Smallfile Humor

Saghi Ehteshamzadeh, Journal
Best Screenlife

Clint Enns, Downer Canada—Environmental Dub
Best Small File Ectoplasm

Tewhigan Bluesky, Klumsy Kevin Kisses Konkrete
Best Punk

Kofi Oduro (Illestpreacha), A World Where Information Can Gather
Best Secular Religion

Andrew Roach, Teenagers from Outerspace—Silent Edition
Most Ingenious Compression

Yuyan Song, JellyFun
Best Nonorganic Tragic Romance

Leo McArdle, Sex and Violence
Dawn of Cinema Award 

Hana Kokšalová, MyPhone Funeral
Best Digital Mourning

TRIPOT (Marius Packbier & Aïlien Reyns), scaling algorithm 02
Most Hypnotic Pixel

Ayana Madi, Built Reality
Best Small File Nomadism, Small File Golden Mini Bear

Partner awards:

Margarita Osipian of The Hmm, Amsterdam, chose these works for screenings and artist talks:

Monique Motut-Firth, Data Dreaming
“We really loved this work because of the narrative it created through the use of patterns and beautiful animations. We were also very impressed that the file was such a small size but was still a good length and the quality of the video was high and not very pixelated.”
Rachel Stuckey, Solid State PSA
“With this work, we loved the idea of creating a PSA in a small file media format. We also liked that the work was taking a humorous approach to talking about technological obsolescence and technological waste.”
BiglerWeibel, Adhäsion
“We loved this work because of the way it used sound and a humorous and absurd image to convey all of our feelings about adhesion and stickiness.”

Jesse Russell Brooks, director of the Film and Video Poetry Society, Los Angeles, will program the following films in this year’s festival:

Criss Wang, Yellow

Dag Davidge, Electric Storm

VIVO Distribution Award, Vancouver

Mandana Mansouri, the Video Out Distribution manager, writes: “VO is a non-profit distribution & outreach service and connects with local and international festivals, institutions, libraries, galleries, curators, programmers, and researchers.  Operating since 1980, Video Out is a non-exclusive distributor so artists are free to continue to distribute their work independently and with other distributors nationally or internationally.  You are also free to end the contract at any time.  We provide artist fees garnered from festival screenings, exhibitions, and licenses to libraries and universities, once a year as a lump sum to artists/producers in distribution. The distribution agreement outlines a 67% (artist) and 33% (distribution) ratio for fees garnered.  While we have a list of festivals that we submit to, and curators/programmers we have good relationships with, please feel free to let us know of any places you would like to have your work submitted to, at any time.”

Mozhdeh Bashirian, Get Out Before It’s Too Late

BiglerWeibel, Adhäsion

Yerin Choi, Four Seasons

Dag Davidge, Electrical Storm

Saghi Ehteshamzadeh, Journal

Sophia English, It is going to be a hot summer

Josh Hite, A Vista

Avesta Mahmoudvaand, Hellmouth

Monique Motut-Firth and pr0phecy sun, TV Party

Yuyan Song, JellyFun

Gabriel Soucheyre, Anne’s Portrait

Jordyn Stewart, Landscape Study IV

Rachel Stuckey, Moon Clock: 4 Phases 2 Optimize U

Eric Tkaczyk, Press

Criss Wang, Yellow

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

%d bloggers like this: