2021 Small File Media Festival Events

Second Annual Small File Media Festival award ceremony and dance party

August 20, 12 pm Pacific Standard Time

Join us at a small-file dance party to find out who will win the coveted Tiny Bear! A raft of in-festival awards presented by The SFMF team! The Cairo Video Festival programming award presented by Mena El Shazly! The Film and Video Poetry Society programming award presented by Jesse Russell Brooks! And the VIVO distribution award presented by Casey Wei and Pietro Sammarco! Vancouver folks are welcome to join us in the lobby of 149 West Hastings Street for these masked and safely distanced festivities.

Second Annual Small File Media Festival Opening Ceremony

August 10, 12 pm Pacific Standard Time 

Join the small-file team of Sophia Biedka, Sanjana Karthik, Joey Malbon, Laura U. Marks, Radek Przedpełski, and Faune Ybarra to grasp why streaming video is choking our planet and what we can do about it, learn how to immerse in this year’s festival, glean resources to make your own small-file movies, and get a taste of the coming week’s treats! 


Find your local number: https://us02web.zoom.us/u/kcoKph4rq

Captivated by Small Files!

August 11, 10 am Pacific Standard Time

As part of the Second Annual Small File Media Festival, Jesse Russell Brooks (founder, Film and Video Poetry Society, Los Angeles), Steve Reinke (queer Nietzschean video artist, Chicago), and Katayoon Yousefbigloo (multimedia artist, Vancouver) bring their poetic and crunchy expertise to untangle what is so seductive about small-file movies. Hosted by Laura U. Marks.

Engineering Heroes

August 12, 10 am Pacific Standard Time

As part of the Second Annual Small File Media Festival, ICT engineers Lofti Belkhir (McMaster University), Anders Andrae (Huawei Sweden), and Lorenz Hilty (University of Zürich) explain the labyrinthine process of calculating the electricity consumption and carbon footprint of information and computing technologies, currently estimated at nearly 4% of global greenhouse gas emissions. Hosted by Laura U. Marks.

Dr. Anders S.G. Andrae received Ph.D. degree in electronics production from Chalmers University of Technology, Gothenburg, Sweden, in 2005. His speciality is the application of sustainability assessment methodologies, resource efficiency, circular economy-related topics, and hazardous substance process management. In ETSI and ITU-T, apart from LCA of telecom goods, networks and services, he has also been the Editor of standardization of circular economy metrics for ICT infrastructure goods. Since 2019 Dr. Andrae is Rapporteur of European Norm standards in ETSI for material efficiency of servers.

He has previously published three books and 39 peer–reviewed journal papers, for example a recent—highly cited—one in the journal Challenges about the emerging trends in electricity consumption of consumer ICT. He sits on the Editorial Board of Challenges, Sci, and International Journal of Green Technology and is a frequently used Reviewer for International Journals within Environmental Science. Since 2008 Dr. Andrae has been with Huawei Technologies in Sweden as Expert of Life Cycle Assessment.

Dr. Lotfi Belkhir, Associate Professor, Walter G. Booth School of Engineering Practice, and Class of 1962 Mechanical Engineering Endowed Chair in Eco-Entrepreneurship, is a visionary and results-driven academic and business practitioner. He is a researcher, teacher, inventor and entrepreneurial leader with 17 years of distinguished industrial experience in sustainable and innovation-powered business creation and economic growth. Dr. Belkhir is an expert and thought-leader in the field of Total Sustainable Management, Eco entrepreneurship, digital convergence and its socio-environmental impact. He possesses proven leadership skills in research and development, IP protection, business development, finance, strategic planning, and general management. He possesses strong and successful international experience and alliances, public speaking, and relationship building. Multicultural, and fluent in English, French and Arabic, Dr. Belkhir earned his Ph.D. in condensed matter physics from SUNY and MBA in Management of Technology, Walden University.

Dr. Lorenz Hilty is a professor at the Department of Informatics at the University of Zurich with a research focus on the interaction between digital transformation and sustainable development. He received his PhD in computer science from the University of Hamburg in 1991. Before being appointed Professor at UZH in 2010, he was Head of the “Technology and Society Lab” at Empa, the Swiss Federal Laboratories for Materials Testing and Research, and Affiliated Professor at Royal Institute of Technology KTH in Stockholm. He initiated the international conference series “ICT for Sustainability” (ICT4S) with the first conference held in 2013 in Zurich. He is a member of the Steering Committee of the Foundation for Technology Assessment (TA-SWISS) of the Swiss Academies of Arts and Sciences and the High-Level Advisory Group on Digitalisation and Sustainability of the German Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety.

Small-File Cosmology! 

August 16, 10 am Pacific Standard Time

As part of the Second Annual Small File Media Festival, Julieta Aranda, conceptual artist (Berlin/NY), Bermet Borubaeva (curator, Bishkek), Mriganka Madhukaillya (media artist, Assam), Jelena Micić (visual artist, Knjaževac/Vienna), and Cristina Moraru (curator,  Iaşi) connect small-file movies, as appropriate technologies, to local practices and technologies, and examine the cosmic capacities of infinitesimal movies. Hosted by Radek Przedpełski. We dedicate this panel to Anna Banana, beloved Vancouver-based pioneer  of low-carbon-footprint neo-avant-garde practices.

Learn more about the Small File Cosmology panelists here!

Small File Makers Forum

August 17, 10 am Pacific Standard Time

As part of the Second Annual Small File Media Festival, starry, self-selected firmament of this year’s festival participants share their ingenious small-file methods, from elegant animation to artistic compression, resuscitated technologies, and virtuosic performance. Hosted by Joey Malbon.


  • Noor Abouchehade – Diaspora – Timetravels
  • Pierre Leichner – Worm Art #9 – Animal Locomotion
  • Sunny Nestler – Cone Worms – Animal Locomotion
  • Markus Maicher -“10 megabytes of memory“ – Timetravels
  • Nadia Shams – Point Zero – Timetravels
  • Mino Iranpoour – Memories of Smartphone on the Room Screen – PT (Care)
  • Fereshteh Toosi – Toxic Acceleration Spell – Ear(th)-Elemental
  • Maria Bello – Untitled – Law of Attractions

Small File Makers Forum 2

August 18, 10 am Pacific Standard Time

As part of the Second Annual Small File Media Festival, another starry firmament of small-file makers on the model of yesterday’s forum.

Makers’ Forum #2

August 18th – 10am PST

  • Allison Tanenhaus – Via Vibra – Law of Attractions
  • Chris Carruth – Why Wonder – Law of Attractions
  • Marilia Kaisar – My Grandmother and my Eating Disorder – PT (Care)
  • Michael Demetriou – Muscles – Portrait of the Artist as a Small File
  • Zach McLane – Dedicated to Hanna – Ontological Temperature
  • Phoebe Legere – To the Moon Catfish – Imaginary Planets
  • Niklas Vollmer – Rostig Födelsedag – Timetravels
  • Mariana Sanson – My Niece is a Dragon – PT (Care)

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

%d bloggers like this: